#41 Jazzer

Jazzer

Here I am

• Islander
  • 5,281 posts

Posted 28 August 2004 - 01:04 AM

sierraleone, on Aug 27 2004, 11:26 AM, said:

Jazzergold, on Aug 27 2004, 10:22 AM, said:

In an episode of ST:Voyager called "Initiations", there was what I thought was a sickeningly politically correct scene when Chakotay was trying to talk a young Kazon out of shooting down Chakotay's ship to earn some rite of passage.  Chakotay said something like: "I'm a gentle man.  I studied hard to earn this uniform." 

Give me a break!  Part of the purpose of Star Fleet was also military when needed.  Chakotay had to do more than study to qualify as Starfleet personnel.  Plus, he had been a member of the Maquis who rebelled against the Federation to fight the Cardassians.  The scene was an attempt to portray a man as having a much more feminine side.  But it wasn't quite consistent. 

Then a few seasons later in another episode called "The Fight" they showed that Chakotay liked boxing as a hobby.  So much for being a "gentle man".  I guess they decided the earlier version of him was too much of (get ready, I'm about to utter something politically incorrect) "gasp!"   :eek4:  a "girlie man".
I don't really recall the episoid other than some young Kazon doing something bad, so I don't recall that scene, I'll have to take your word for it.

But to me it hardly matters. First of all, being aggressive in atheltics, does not neccessarily make some aggressive in their personal life, or professional life outside of sports. Also, being gentle, does not preclude the possibility of being tough when needed/when you feel a cause.

So I don't think its paradoxical for someone to essentially think themself gentle, but play aggressive sports and rebel in a cause they think is just.