• Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#1 Harper's Cat

Harper's Cat

Obsessed with other people's hair

• Islander
  • 910 posts

Posted 18 November 2004 - 01:15 PM

I was listening to 101.9 an Arkansas pop-rock station this morning and they were talking about a church group that would be protesting at a High School in Arkansas this morning.  I'm a Sunday School teacher so this got my attention, I couldn't imagine what would be so bad at a school that a church group from Topeka, Kansas felt the need to make that far a trip.
They were protesting the student group Gay-Straight Alliance.  The radio DJs, Jon and Jen spoke on the phone with a woman who claimed to be the lawyer representing the Topeka church group.  This lawyer didn't use any fowl language but she was VERY rude and obnoxious.  Jon and Jen were patient while she ranted on about how all gays were going to H***.  Jon asked some very intelligent questions which the woman completely avoided answering.  
I don't recall it verbatim but I was more impressed with the DJ's behavior than this supposedly educated woman.  
Jon asked her if she thought that her actions would change the minds of the gay students and her comment really stuck in mind.  She said (and I quote) "I don't give a rat's behind about those deck chairs on the Titanic!"
What kind of an attitude is that?  God told us to Love one another as He loves us.
Yes, he told us homosexuality is wrong but that doesn't make Gays bad people.  They are lost just like liars and thieves but we can pray for them and try to help them NOT persecute them like this group appears to be doing.
I have gay and lesbian friends, they are aware of what the scriptures say about their way of life and how I feel about it.  I don't browbeat them or smack them over the head with my Bible, I don't pray for them to be the way I want them to be, I pray that they will be the way God wants them because my vision is Human and as such is flawed.
Posted Image

Posted Image