66 replies to this topic

#61 Rhea

Rhea

• Islander
  • 16,433 posts

Posted 23 April 2005 - 09:25 PM

Digital Man, on Apr 23 2005, 07:25 AM, said:

nutmeg, on Apr 22 2005, 12:15 AM, said:

I have been a teacher for 20+ years. It's very simple. Adults don't have sex with children, period. No excuses. Teachers don't have sex with students, period.  No excuses.

nutmeg

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

What she said.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

That makes three of us.

In fairness, what I said to the Handmaiden about segregating sexes is that it's an interesting discussion, but IMO unrelated to the questions of teachers who have sex with their students, because regardless the problem wouldn't resolve itself, especially if there's a pathology involved. In other words, teachers inclined to have sex with students are going to have sex with students. They should be prosecuted. Period.

The question of how to make teachers aware of how wrong and sometimes just plain sick such behavior is is a good one. We train teachers to teach; we should also train them on how to conduct themselves so that they're a role model for their students. I work with a number of really fine teachers - and from what I've seen most teachers are overworked, underpaid and do their jobs out of a love for teaching.  In the current climate, with the President instituting and under-funding the No Child Left Behind act, they're REALLY going to have to stay on out of love for the job because now they're not only NOT getting paid what they're worth, but they're having to jump through hoops to prove to the Feds that they're worthy to be teaching in the first place.  :unsure:  :angry:

Unfortunately, just as in the general population, there are always going to be the odd teachers with emotional problems or who are just plain sick. Sad, but the whole profession shouldn't be held to task for the problems of a few.