• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21 Bad Wolf

Bad Wolf

Luck is when opportunity meets preparation

• Islander
  • 38,881 posts

Posted 12 April 2003 - 08:56 PM

I would be more inclined to give him the benefit of the doubt as to his motive for concealing the stories if his disclosure didn't read as someone trying to now capitalize on it.

Lil
Posted Image

#22 Aurora335

Aurora335

not a force to be reckoned with

• Islander
  • 634 posts

Posted 12 April 2003 - 11:48 PM

the'Hawk, on Apr 12 2003, 11:25 AM, said:

^ But why? He doesn't have any moral obligation to tell the truth of what's going on--------

Wait a minute. He's a journalist. Of course he does.
As an aspiring journalist, I can understand his motivations for keeping silent, even if I don't agree with them.

I have been told things by sources that are "off the record," and I would love to have them in print, but no one is going to be under threat of death if I happen to print the information.

#23 Bossy

Bossy

Chaos Personified

• Islander
  • 1,408 posts

Posted 13 April 2003 - 01:41 AM

I can see his dilema. One could make a case that morally he should have spoke up, shouted out the world what was happening. To do so would have gotten a number of his coworkers, and possibly their families, tourtured or killed. I can only imagine the relief, and one would suspect guilt, that he is feeling now.

The only thing that I wonder is this, did he or CNN pass this information on two our goverment? I've always thought that there was far more known about the Iraqi regime than what we were told.
Bossy

Kryptonite, silver bullet, Buffy? Dammit, what does it take to keep you in the grave? - John to Scorpy

And what the hell is Succubitch doing here? - Lorne

Captain, your presence here has not been overly meddlesome. - Ambassador Soval

.... it'll only induce me to acts of eloquence and mayhem. - Hawk

#24 the 'Hawk

the 'Hawk
  • Islander
  • 5,281 posts

Posted 13 April 2003 - 01:43 AM