• Please log in to reply
93 replies to this topic

#21 Themis

Themis
  • Islander
  • 6,544 posts

Posted 22 July 2005 - 01:47 PM

Raina, on Jul 22 2005, 05:21 PM, said:

It irks me seeing a voter's info booklet in god knows how many different languages. Imho, if you can't be bothered to learn how to speak at least one of a country's official languages, you shouldn't have a say in their politics.

You haven't seen California's voter information books.  They are extremely complicated and use legal language, present the proposition (these are used to explain the many propositions on the ballot at each election) and arguments pro and con.  I have a college degree and am a native American English speaker and they were tough to wade through.  If your native language was Spanish or Vietnamese, you would need master's or PhD level English to make it through.  So I don't mind making those available in other languages.  The ballot itself is something else.  If you can't read the words president, vice president, senator, proposition #3 etc.,  in English, you have no business voting.  IMO.  Voting intelligently in California takes some study.  Tennessee, on the other hand, has maybe 6 things on the ballot in a national election...all usually candidates.

As to an official language - I WISH the US had one.  At this rate it'll be Spanish by default in another few decades...

Themis
Cats will never be extinct!

#22 emsparks

emsparks
  • Forever Missed
  • 2,426 posts

Posted 22 July 2005 - 02:58 PM

I just wrote this to Senator Clinton:

Dear Senator Clinton,

I am going to make this short. If you check your records, if you save past emails to you, you will find that I once counted my self a supporter of yours.