• Please log in to reply
213 replies to this topic

#21 Eskaminzim

Eskaminzim

Head eggs and butt toast

• Islander
  • 559 posts

Posted 29 March 2006 - 11:57 AM

Not all that rare, Gode, as far as I know.  I was once thinking of emigrating to En Zed, until I found out that you needed a sponsor, had to have specific job OFFERS before you could apply, and that those offers had to be in professional and licensed jobs (i.e advanced degrees), unless you had over a million some odd dollars in the bank, OR your sponsors were rich.  And I AM an advanced degreed professional!  I was like "beautiful country, lovely people, waaaaaaay too many hoops to jump through, think I"ll just stay here instead."

So, it's not just the US.

#22 enTranced

enTranced

Chasing Your Starlight!

• Islander
  • 15,772 posts

Posted 29 March 2006 - 11:58 AM

View PostLin731, on Mar 29 2006, 04:43 PM, said:

Yeah God forbid we put a stopper in our swiss cheese borders and runaway illegal immigration problem in this country. Maybe we ought to change the inscription to read "Give us your tired, your poor, your dirt cheap laborers".  How UnAmerican to expect people to come here legally (as our ancestors did) instead of slinking across the border in the dead of night, having kids so they can't be deported, draining the American taxpayer for welfare, education, medical care, law enforcement, border enforcement while becoming the largest source of income for Mexico. If anything, we should be ashamed of ourselves for leaving our borders poorly protected thus allowing some 12 million illegals that we know nothing about to roam free in the US. Heck maybe we ought to Annex Mexico, in another 30 years at the rate of illegal immigration, most of them will be HERE already anyway.

Aside from what Gode mentions, this nation was BUILT by immigrants. And I think we should be working on helping these people become legal citizens of this nation.