Health Care Public Option 2009

• Please log in to reply
127 replies to this topic

#41 Lin731

Lin731
  • Islander
  • 4,126 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 06:11 PM

I understand that you are in a difficult situation. I have family in a similar position. Your points are perfectly valid. However, stating an argument in a combative fashion does help the presentation of your case, nor does it further the general discussion.

You're right, my apologies to palisade. It wasn't really meant to be personal but it came out that way. It just reflects my frustration that many with insurance seem to not give two sh*ts about all the people with no coverage. Your sentiments echoed theirs (but yours didn't carry that dismissive "screw em" tone I've all too often heard). I work in manufacturing (as did my husband until the floor fell out in everything in this state) he's currently looking for work as are 100,000s of others here in Michigan. In recent years more and more manufacturing companies are cutting back or cutting out insurance completely. In the last 8 years we went from both of us having insurance through our employers to neither one of us having coverage. Even when I had coverage though, I was all for some kind of coverage for all Americans. We can pay for healthcare upfront or we can continue to pay for it at the back door (at nose bleed prices) when the uninsured end up in the ER. Either way we're paying. Personally, as long as our politicians are bought and paid for by big insurance and big pharma, there will never be any meaningful healthcare reform in this country. The first step to reform is streamlining forms (universal forms used by ALL providers). Second a cap on profits...I know how many feel about that but frankly health for profit is repugnant to me in the first place but if we are going to have that type of insurance system, we need some kinda cap on how much these insurers rake in for themselves and some common decency in what is allowed (end pre existing c