• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 cylkoth

cylkoth

I'm a non attorney spokesperson

• Islander
  • 6,593 posts

Posted 18 August 2010 - 04:05 PM

I've been going back and forth over whether a home theater pc or game console would suit my needs. Not really into playing video games. My primary desire is to stream internet video to watch on tv, rather than watch on the computer monitor. I like that the consoles look smaller than even a slim pc, and wouldn't take up too much room. I've been scanning ebay, and have seen a number of refurbished xboxes and WIIs going for less than half their retail prices, so my interest in them has been heightened. But I would like to know a little bit about how well each console handles streaming from sites like Hulu, etc.
I was shocked to learn with the Xbox, Netflix subscribers must subscribe to something called Xbox Gold Live-wait, we have to pay a monthly fee in order to have the box access a service we're already paying for? Alriiiiighty then, points off for that. While I already have a blu ray player with Netflix capability, it's not that big of a deal, But the idea that you're forced to pony up to have your NF account viewable on the Xbox is seriously wrong.
That leaves the WII and PS3. How are they for streaming video off the internet? I read that the WII has a browser built in, are there USB ports on it so a keyboard can be connected?

Any advice on these would be welcome. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------
Am I Blue?
Am I Blue...
Ain't these tears, in my eyes, telling you?

#2 Thia The Muse

Thia The Muse

Galwit Mysto

• 893 posts

Posted 18 August 2010 - 05:48 PM

I would suggest the PS3. It plays more internet videos than the Wii and has a Blu-Ray player.
"Things are rarely just crazy enough to work, but they're frequently just crazy enough to fail hilariously."
~xkcd, "The Race: Part 4"
Posted Image

#3 NeuralClone

NeuralClone
  • Islander
  • 23,092 posts