• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Park57

Park57
  • Just Washed Ashore
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 March 2012 - 04:03 PM

Hello!

If this is the wrong section please move this thread.

My name is Parker Jendrycki and I'm a grad student at the University of Illinois. I am conducting research on user generated sci-fi content and looking for your opinion.

If you write and/or read user generated content I would love to hear from you for any/all of these questions.

1. As a writer, would you like to make money from your content?

2. As a writer, if a service existed that allowed you to upload your content and embed it on other websites would you use it?

3. As a reader would you like to be able to read stories in one cohesive document rather than in multiple posts?

4. As a reader would you be willing to pay for regularly updated, high quality content? If not pay, would you view advertisements to support the writer?

Thanks for the time!

-Parker

#2 Orpheus

Orpheus

Get my agent! I'm supposed to be Castathan, not Indogene

• Administrator
  • 16,908 posts

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:19 AM

1. Yes, but below a certain threshold, that's easily outweighed by other considerations.

2. Exposure is always good.

3. Hard to imagine how I wouldn't!

4. Easily accessible quality content is always valuable. Advertising is also an acceptable payment method.

#3 ArdenCabbel

ArdenCabbel

S.L.o.P.

• Islander
  • 946 posts

Posted 03 March 2012 - 11:19 AM

1. I would enjoy making money for my content, it would help me fund future content.

2. Yes.

3. Absolutely.  It would be much easier then trying to track down different parts, and the end of a post in a story often erroneously marks a dramatic break in the story for me.

4. I would be willing to pay for high quality content, but as tastes are rather varied, I would prefer an advertising supported model.
Posted Image

#4 Elara

Elara

Feel the silence of the moonlight.

• Islander
  • 1,955 posts