TV

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Omega

Omega

Maktel shcree lotak meta setak Oz!

• 4,037 posts

Posted 26 August 2012 - 11:07 AM

My wife and I bought a house about 18 months ago. This house has a fireplace, with a TV mount built into the stone above the mantel. I've never used this kind of wall-mount TV before, and so far we've been watching TV elsewhere in the house. But we're getting ready to put a TV in that room, and I really don't know what I'm supposed to do with that thing! It looks somewhat similar to this:
http://www.amazon.co...v mounting arms

But without the mounting arms. All I have is a flat piece of metal on the wall. So I think that means that the previous owners took half the mounting bracket with them, attached to their TV, when they left. If I'm right, I need a) arms that will mate with this wall bracket, and b) a TV that will mate with the arms. B) sounds pretty easy, VESA standards and all. But A), I'm not so sure about.

Like I say, I've never been here before. does anyone have any insight into just how screwed I am? :)

#2 Orpheus

Orpheus

I'm not the boss of you!

• Administrator
  • 17,870 posts

Posted 26 August 2012 - 12:15 PM

Though the actual VESA standards are ridiculously highly guarded (and expensive to buy, for licensing reasons), the screws are standard M5 and the spacing is simple, as described in this Creator's Corner thread.

I STRONGLY suggest wood. It's plenty strong enough, and about a hundred times easier to work with than plate metal. At the very most, I might add a few metal bits (e.g. T-nuts; sheet metal at contact points)