Difficult loosing my weight

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 SamantaS

SamantaS
  • Just Washed Ashore
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 October 2017 - 08:08 AM

Hi all, I'm new to it and I'm glad to be directed here.
I'm 22 years old and I have difficulties loosing my weight. My top weight was 185 pounds when I was in the 8th grade and 5 feet tall. Since then it has been fluctuating plus minus 5-10 pounds. For me dieting is a horrible idea. I can't imagine limiting myself at 1200 calories a day. It is the bare minimum a person should eat. It's very low and I personally can't do it.
So please, advice. Mybe somebody had similar situation and made it out. Thx

#2 Orpheus

Orpheus

I'm not the boss of you!

• Administrator
  • 17,588 posts

Posted 12 October 2017 - 12:24 PM

Losing weight is rarely easy, and IMHO there may not be a well-proven "easy" way to take off weight you've had for a long time. Certainly the statistics for keeping the weight off, long term, are not good.

But please don't be discouraged. I had good luck losing weight (I'm down to where I was 20+ years ago, and recently I've been slowly losing more), but I can't recommend the diet I used. It was outstanding for me, with my physiology and lifestyle, but I know far more people for whom it did nothing.

I hate to say this, but if you seriously want to lose weight, you may need professional help. I'd start with a visit to the doctor to assess your overall health (i.e. what kind of diet can you tolerate) and see if there are any conditions that contribute to your weight gain. A nutritionist or personal trainer might also get you started. Actually, your friends can help you get started in many ways (being more active, avoiding pitfalls). Also, at your age, alcohol often contributes to weight gain in several ways (just a thought).

It's a vast topic, and I wish I had more to say, but obviously I don't know anything about you. Good luck! It's worth it!

#3 SamantaS

SamantaS