• Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#1 Perpetual Malcontent

Perpetual Malcontent

The Eternal Explorer

• Islander
  • 308 posts

Posted 02 November 2003 - 05:58 AM

So Mattel has this new doll out that is loosely based on witchcraft.  I am studying a wiccan coven and found this doll interesting.  I was surprised at the amount of controversy surrounding the doll.  What are your thoughts?

http://www.mailorder....html#ac=101675

(edited to add link)

Edited by Senar, 02 November 2003 - 06:15 AM.

My karma ran over your dogma

"To have more, desire less"

"Religion is for people afraid of going to hell, spirituality is for people who have already been there."

You cannot simultaneously prevent and prepare for war - Albert Einstein

The poster formerly known as Senar :)

#2 Lord Ravensburg

Lord Ravensburg

All your lightsabers are belong to me

• Islander
  • 533 posts

Posted 02 November 2003 - 06:18 AM

I think that Mattell must be full of idiots if they thought that this wouldn't be controversial.  I don't know if the dolls have anything at all to do with Wicca (probably not), but any perception of an occult connection prompts a strong and immediate knee-jerk reaction from certain quarters within this country.

#3 Perpetual Malcontent

Perpetual Malcontent

The Eternal Explorer

• Islander
  • 308 posts

Posted 02 November 2003 - 06:22 AM

I think that is the response Mattel wants.  I don't think this doll has much at all to do with kids.  How many anti-christian fundamentalists will go out and buy these dolls just to annoy the fundamentalists?  How much advertisement is Mattel getting from those who love and hate the doll?  I don't think it is any evil corporate plan to convert anyone to witchcraft, I think it is a way to play opposing groups against each other.

"Religion is for people afraid of going to hell, spirituality is for people who have already been there."

#4 tennyson

tennyson
  • Islander
  • 6,173 posts